Dum Dum Motijheel Rabindra Mahavidyalaya (1968)

Affiliated To West Bengal State University | Registered Under Section 2(f) & 12B Of UGC Act NAAC Accredited | Government Aided


Dum Dum Motijheel Rabindra Mahavidyalaya, a Degree College was established on 5th August, 1968 under the name of Dum Dum Motijheel Evening College of Commerce with affiliation from the Calcutta University.

This institution saw its dawn through the untiring efforts of such respected educationists as Dr. B. B. Dutta, Sri B. K. Sen, Sri Sukumar Bhattacharya, Sri Santi Dasgupta and Sri Kumares Basu, the founder Principal.

To start with, it was founded with the modest aim of providing facilities for studying Commerce Degree Course, General and Honours under Calcutta University and to cater to the needs of the working students through evening classes. Subsequently, under local demand and pressure, a full-fledged day Commerce College came into being, and the evening shift was done away with. Thus the College was converted into a Day College in 1974 and accordingly it came to be known as Dum Dum Motijheel College of Commerce.

Further, to face the challenges of globalisation in the field of higher education and to suit the emerging need of the society at local, regional and national level, the Governing Body of the College resolved to convert the present College of Commerce into a multi-faculty Degree College. The College accordingly was re-christened Dum Dum Motijheel Rabindra Mahavidyalaya in 2004 and the necessary approval from the University of Calcutta for introduction of Arts and Science streams was received. B.A./B.Sc. courses were introduced w.e.f. 2006-07. Now the college is affiliated to the West Bengal State University, Barasat, North 24 Parganas. At present we offer B.Com (Hons) in Marketing in commerce stream. In the B Sc. Category we offer Geography (Hons) and also Journalism (Hons) to B.A. students.

Contact Details

208, B/2, Dum Dum Rd, Chatakol,
Lakshminagar, Dum Dum, Kolkata,
West Bengal
Pin- 700074.

033-25609988 (10.00 a.m. to 5.00 p.m. Except Holidays)